Muffin Better

Banana Oat Muffins

  

‘Muffin’ better than starting off the new year with some good, healthy and nutritious food! These banana oat muffins are simple, wholesome and hearty. They are free of refined sugar and are gluten-free. 

IMG_2156


I’m excited for what 2016 has to bring. I plan on sitting down this week and making a few resolutions like trying new foods and recipes, continuing good and positive habits from last year and trying to do something new each month. 


I have tried out a few different muffin recipes, I keep coming back to this one. These are a great little on-the-go snack or I really enjoy eating them with my morning green smoothie.


The recipe does call for one egg so it is not considered vegan. I think 1 egg spread between 12 muffins isn’t too bad. They are gluten-free, sugar-free and don’t contain any processed goop.


red.png   INGREDIENTS:

• 1 Egg

• 2 Tbsp Raw honey

• 1 cup unsweetened Almond Milk

• 2 ripe Bananas

• 1 1/2 cup gluten-free Flour

• 2 tsp gluten-free Baking powder

• 1/2 cup gluten-free rolled Oats

• 1/2 tsp gluten-free Baking Soda

• Cinnamon

whisk 2  HOW TO…



1. Preheat oven to 400F/ 200C. Prepare your muffin trays, I line mine with muffin/cupcake cases.


2. Beat the egg and honey together in a bowl. Mash the bananas and add to the egg mixture along with the milk. Mix well.

3. Sift in the flour, baking soda and baking powder and fold in gently. Add the oats. Ensure that you don’t over mix as they will not rise nicely.


4. Spoon the mixture into the muffin trays. I fine it easy to pour the batter into a jug and then pour into the cupcake cases. Sprinkle with the cinnamon.

Bake for 20-25 minutes. Pierce with toothpick to ensure they are cooked in the middle.


 
Enjoy!!





LLWsignature

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Patricia egan says:

    I am going to try make them today jen..as i have almond milk. Will let you know how i get on xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great!! Send me photos xx

      Like

Leave a comment